Ms Rebekah Brooks’ religion.

Lewis Carroll, the well-known author of Alice'...

C.L. Dodson, AKA Lewis Carroll

I noticed from the search engine terms leading people to my blog that a lot of people have been trying to find out What Rebekah Brooks’ religion is. At least one search was looking for an association with Scientology. As far as I am aware if she has any association with Scientology it is a very, very  secret one. If you have better information than me, please leave a comment.

Although I am not able to answer the question of what her religion is, with any certainty, I can at least offer a guess to help people along.

My best guess is that she is lapsed church of England, this is based on the all Saints parish church in Daresbury, being her local church, and a quick search of names associated with All Saints (The most famous being the Reverend C L Dodson AKA Lewis Carroll, who was born in the parsonage) throwing up the surname Wade, Ms Brooks’ maiden name, going back into the late 19th century at least.

Now this is by no means a scientific or concrete answer, however when I identified this church as a possible candidate, it raised certain questions for me. Following Ms Brooks’ resignation today much was made about her agenda when working for the Sun Newspaper, concerning naming and shaming paedophiles, which was controversial. The controversy was as much concerned with the way in which it produced an almost lynch mob mentality among Sun readers. I recall more than one Paediatrician being targeted simply because of the association of the prefix ‘paed’, which illustrates how out of hand an otherwise laudable agenda to put victims first, got.

The reason I mention this in this context is that a loose association with Lewis Carroll, still raises various questions. Lewis Carroll used to take photographs of nude children, (A mainstream activity in Victorian England) and had a very odd relationship with several pre-pubescent girls, including the famous inspiration for Alice in Wonderland and through the looking Glass a certain Alice Liddell. Most scholars believe, that Carroll had no sexual association in these contexts, and I tend to believe them, however it was still all very odd, almost as odd to my mind as the association between Michael Jackson and young boys.

My argument would be this, given the association of Ms Brooks’ maiden family name with the church, and the association of Dodson with the church, and Ms Brooks’ crusade against paedophiles, two possibilities appear to present themselves.

Either the family had disassociated from religious belief before or shortly after Ms Brooks’ birth, and local legend and myth concerning the Rev Dodson, lead her to develop a particular irritation at paedophiles and by association, organised religion. Or she was raised to believe, and discovering more about the man, famously born in the parsonage of the local church became disillusioned and lost her faith.

I tend towards the latter explanation purely intuitively.

Now I should emphasise that, these are as I said above guesses, but perhaps it will help those searching on the theme of Ms Brooks’ religion.

I do hope however that her departure  from News international will not overshadow, or dilute the efforts to keep the responsibility of the Murdock family for phone hacking and other abuses of their position in the limelight.

My apologies, this post survived several hours before I noticed that my spell checker had corrected my correct spelling of Ms Brooks’ name. This has now been rectified.
About Transremaxculver

An entirely fictitious username I created for posting on 'alt.religion.scientology', Scientology is something of which I am highly critical. For those of you who don't know, the Church of Scientology have a habit of making life very uncomfortable for even the most legitimate of critics, which is why this username is completely anonymous. Anyway I have become quite fond of this username, and although it has to some extent outgrown it's original purpose, I think a blog is perhaps the right place for me/it to continue to grow and develop.
This entry was posted in British Politics, News Corporation Phone Hacking Scandal, Politics, Rebekah Brooks nee Wade's Religion., Religion and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

