Zapped Again.

Joe's Garage

Image via Wikipedia

Whilst hopping around the web I recently discovered a quote about $cientology, from Frank Zappa which I posted here:

https://transremaxculver.wordpress.com/2011/07/04/random-quotes-no1/

And to ARS, where someone suggested that one of the Mothers of invention (Zappa’s somewhat fluid band) had been a $cientologist, and I did some research to find out, who?

It turns out it was probably the Saxaphone player, Euclid James Sherwood AKA Motorhead Sherwood AKA “Larry Fanoga” AKA “Fred Fanoga, an on and off member of the Mothers, who Zappa reportedly told Michael Gray (Zappa’s biographer) “got into Scientology for a while and then recovered”. When and how I don’t know. In the course of finding this out, I discovered that one of the few Zappa albums I haven’t ever heard ‘Joes Garage‘ lampoons Scientology unmercifully. I have naturally now vowed to get myself a copy of ‘Joes Garage’ at the earliest available  opportunity.

Apparently act II of this particular Jazz Rock Opera opens with the hero Joe, turning to religion for help, paying a lot of money” to “L. Ron Hoover” at the First Church of Appliantology who identifies Joe as a “latent appliance fetishist”. When Joe asks if he should “come out of the closet” he is instead instructed to “go into the closet” to
achieve “sexual gratification through the use of machines”.

The E-meter will never seem the same again.

About Transremaxculver

An entirely fictitious username I created for posting on 'alt.religion.scientology', Scientology is something of which I am highly critical. For those of you who don't know, the Church of Scientology have a habit of making life very uncomfortable for even the most legitimate of critics, which is why this username is completely anonymous. Anyway I have become quite fond of this username, and although it has to some extent outgrown it's original purpose, I think a blog is perhaps the right place for me/it to continue to grow and develop.
This entry was posted in Humour, Jazz/Blues/rock/ect, Scientology. and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

